Connections

What are connections?

Connections are setup to link a users existing contact systems (i.e. GMail, Plaxo, Linkedin etc) with AddressBookONE.

How do connections work?

You can setup connections from within your AddressBookONE account. During this process a request is made to the selected contact system, you would then grant access for AddressBookONE to connect with this system. Each time you log into the dashboard AddressBookONE will then connect to each system you have approved access for and import the latest contact information.

How do I set up connections?

See the Connections Setup Guide.

What connections are currently available?

The connections that are currently available are as follows:

  • Gmail
  • Plaxo
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Microsoft Exchange 2003/2007

Will I have to disclose any personal login details in order to connect to my existing systems?

No, access is always granted via proxy so AddressBookONE is never exposed to your login details. Access is limited and can be revoked by you at anytime.

Will connections make any changes to the original contact information (in Gmail, Facebook etc)?

No, all connections are for import purposes only. All contact information in other systems will remain unaffected by AddressBookONE.

How often do the connections refresh?

Connections will refresh every time you log into AddressBookONE. You can also refresh each connection manually at anytime from within your AddressBookONE account via the connections page.

How long are connections valid for and will they expire?

Access is controlled and granted by each individual system, therefore each connection will vary in duration. Typically connections are valid for 12 months and can be simply renewed by you at the end of each term. Connections can also be revoked by you at anytime.

Can I remove connections and what will happen to data that has already been imported?

Yes, connections can be revoked by you at anytime from within AddressBookONE or from within your individual contact systems. When a connection is removed all contact information previously imported by AddressBookONE from that connection will no longer be available in AddressBookONE.

Merging

What is merging and how does it work?

Merging combines two or more contact records together. The merged contact and all information is displayed and managed as a single record but will maintain all links to the original, individual contacts. Viewing a merged contact will indicate which data sources it is made up of (i.e. Gmail, Plaxo, AddressBookONE etc) by displaying the relevant connection icons at the top of the contact screen.

How can I merge contacts?

You can find details on how to merge contacts in the Manage Panel help page.

What happens to the original contacts that are merged?

All original contacts are preserved and can be viewed as a “sub-contact” of the merged contact by clicking the relevant connection icon.

Can I un-merge a contact if I change my mind?

Yes, as all original contacts are preserved, it is possible to simply un-merge and restore each merged contact to its original, multiple forms. To do this select the merged contact from the Index and click Edit. Select the Un-Merge Contact button and you will be able to select the sub-contact(s) you want to remove from the merged contact.

Will merging make any changes to the original contact information (in GMail, Facebook etc)?

No, all contact information in other systems will remain unaffected by any of the AddressBookONE activities.

Adding, Editing and Deleting Contacts

How do I add a new contact?

Simply click the “Add” button found on the contacts index panel.

Where is the new contact stored and what system does it belong to?

If you add a new contact from within AddressBookONE this will be an AddressBookONE contact and be stored in your AddressBookONE account.

How do I edit existing contacts?

Simply select a contact from the contacts index and select the “edit” button found below the contact photo.

Will editing a contact make any changes to the original contact information (in Gmail, Facebook etc)?

No, all edits or additional information entered in AddressBookONE will remain in AddressBookONE and will not affect or change the data imported from your other address book systems.

Where is the edited information stored and what system does it belong to?

This will be AddressBookONE data and be stored in your AddressBookONE account.

How do I delete existing contacts?

Only contacts created in AddressBookONE can be deleted from within your AddressBookONE account. To delete contacts simply select the contact from the index and click the trash can icon.

Will deleting a contact remove it from its original source (in GMail, Facebook etc)?

Only if the contact originated from your device. It is not possible to delete any contacts imported from your 3rd party connections from within AddressBookONE.

Can I delete any type of contact?

No. Only contacts created within AddressBookONE can be deleted from within your AddressBookONE account. It is possible, however, to hide contacts that you do not wish to see in the main contact lists. This can be done individually from within a contact or in mass via the manage console.

What happens if I delete a merged contact?

Merged contacts can only be deleted if they contain only AddressBookONE sub-contacts. It is not possible to delete a merged contact if it contains sub-contacts from one of your connections. If you select to delete the merged AddressBookONE contact it will be deleted along with all sub-contacts it is made up of.

Is it possible to access contacts that have been marked as hidden?

Yes. There is a tab on the main contacts index that will allow you to view only hidden contacts. Any contacts listed here can be edited as normal and can also be made visible again if required.

What is the star icon used for when viewing a contact?

Clicking the star icon will mark that contact as a favourite. The main contacts index provides you with a star tab that will list only your starred contacts.

Account Type and Purchasing

Is AddressBookONE free to use?

We offer a free 30 day trial of the service.
If you wish to continue using it after the trial period, we offer an annual subscription at a cost of GBP 19.95 (excl. VAT).

How can I join AddressBookONE?

Register here or you can also find the Register link in the top right corner of the AddressBookONE website.

How do I delete my AddressBookONE account?

Please contact us, providing the email address you registered with, and we will close your account.

I have forgotten my password, how can I reset it?

You will find a "Reset your password" link on the login page of the AddressBookONE website.
You will need to provide your login email address. Password reset instructions wil be sent to that address.

I never received the confirmation e-mail, what do I do?

Please contact us, providing the email address you registered with, and we will manually activate your account.